Prius fail – dead 12 volt battery


Once again I find myself with a flat 12 volt battery standing athwart billions of Yen of research and development… a flat battery has rendered my car inert.

Could have been a light left on, a door left ajar or just a crappy battery.  Sad face.

UPDATE 10:00: Nice man from Allianz Roadside Assist got me started.  The battery analyser said that the battery was charging just fine when the car was on but not running, this was probably the HV battery topping up the 12 volt battery.  The analyser then wanted me to rev the engine and then idle; tricky on both counts.  While in Park I had to press the brake and the accelerator together to force the engine to turn.

Is there a battery analyser for hybrid cars?

I think that I’ll invest in a jump starter, as a simple battery charger won’t start the car in that state.

Your thoughts?

