First ride of the new year


Mulligans Flat Reserve
Mulligans Flat Reserve
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy new year. I recently got my mountain bike serviced; I was unfamiliar with its hydraulic brakes and single-sided fork and I used to fix my old bike with a 15″ shifting spanner and Mr Sheen. I took it out 2 days ago to ride some tracks in the Mulligan Flat Reserve and enjoyed it so much I thought that I’d have another go.  Despite the hot weather, there was enough of a breeze to keep things pleasant enough.
The tracks are a combination of groomed fire trails, tyre tracks of packed clay, metalled roads and narrow tyre tracks with scattered pink granite. The surfaces were generally good with my relatively poor handling skills tested only a few times. There’s a mixture of steep and long climbs, but generally nothing too taxing; I only used the granny gear once. The Mulligans Flat Reserve is surrounded by a high, electrified fence and baited against foxes and feral dogs.

Might not look inviting, but it protects the reserve
Might not look inviting, but the electric fence and poison baits protect the reserve

Fauna seen on the journey included 6 [feral] rabbits, a lizard sunning itself and about 200 kangaroos.

Just five of the estimated 200 eastern grey kangaroos I rode past
Just five of the estimated 200 eastern grey kangaroos I rode past

If all goes well, you should be able to see the details of my ride displayed below from using the MapMyRide+ app.

IMG_0976
The view to the south-east. Mount Majura and Horse Park Drive in the centre background

UPDATE: It would be obvious by now that the MapMyRide code isn’t working. WordPress.com disables code it considers risky. If I hosted a WordPress.org blog, I could add the MapMyRide plug-in to my plug-in folder. Sadly, all I can do is post a link… and once I figure out how to do that; the link generator on MapMyRide produces the same bloody code that is blocked.  You can find the WordPress.org MapMyRide embedder here.
If you’re in North Canberra or ride Mulligans Flat, I’d like your comments and advice.
Here’s the workout (?) as text.

Workout: Mountain Biking – General
Date: 01/01/2013
Distance: 11.22 km
Duration: 48:27

To view ‘Biked 11.22 km on 1/01/13’, follow the link below:
http://www.mapmyride.com/view_workout?w=216601664

You can also view my profile and add me as a Friend here:
http://www.mapmyride.com/user_profile?u=25777916

I sent this from MapMyRide+, available in the iTunes app store!

Thanks,
Bradley

UPDATE 10/01/2013: http://www.mapmyfitness.com/ is running a promotion to win an iPad 2.  Just log a workout before 13 January and you go in the draw.  There’s nothing in the email to restrict the prize to residents of the USA, so I’m in!

2 thoughts on “First ride of the new year

    1. I have a Cannondale Super V 700 I bought in 2002. It’s still on its original tyres, which shows how much I’ve used it. Pix soon.
      It’s been too damn hot for ride No. 2 of 2013!
      MapMyRide+ app is spiffy. It analyses the route post facto. It found a climb on my last ride and all but challenged me and any other user to beat that time.

Your thoughts?

