Goat on Hume Highway


Or should I say “goats”?

I only saw one.  I was at on the Hume Highway just south of the Narellen road overpass travelling north at about 08:30.  On the left hand side of the road was a big, black goat. I stopped dead on the Hume Highway in case it decided to run in front of me and flicked on the hazard lights lest anyone behind me didn’t realise that livestock were crossing..  After I stopped, the goat ran across the road and onto the median.

I called the police on 131444 to report that “traffic conditions” near Raby NSW were fine with a chance of goat.

Returning to Canberra I passed the same spot at about 15:30 and saw the same goat.  This time there was a police paddy wagon.  However the police officers seemed content to say in the cabin.

Now I find a Facebook page has been started for the half-dozen or so goats that live precariously on the Hume Highway.  https://www.facebook.com/GoatsOnTheHumeHwy  Try explaining that to the insurance.

Your thoughts?

